2023 York County Awards

Information Technology

The Department of Information Technology provides support for the Geographic Information System; the centralized computer systems; supports data processing needs of all other divisions and agencies; provides strategic planning of County technology needs; maintains an integrated electronic mail system and maintains and coordinates the website for the County.

Mission Statement:  Providing cost effective, modern, interoperable, sustainable, secure, and reliable services that are beneficial for York County staff, constituents, and local businesses while also aligning with the County’s strategic priorities and the comprehensive plan.

Vision Statement:  Delivering solutions that are engaging and user-friendly while facilitating ubiquitous access by employing innovative technologies.   

Fire and Life Safety

York County claimed the No. 3 spot in its population category by making improvements in public safety, economic development, communications and customer service, environmental stewardship, and technology.

Technology improvements for the new fire station in the northern end of the county as well as the Yorktown Public Library and the future public safety building (under construction) include high-speed fiber connectivity and outdoor ADA-compliant voice over Internet protocol emergency call buttons. Improved connectivity was also provided last year to additional libraries, fire stations, a senior center and various public offices across the county. A system for monitoring and controlling wastewater and stormwater runoff was installed to include more energy-efficient pumps.

Constituents, meanwhile, benefitted from website improvements to include a page for requesting permits and updated maps for bike path and sidewalk projects. Customer service employees are able to process public record requests with the assistance of a new software program, and a livestream camera installed in the Yorktown Waterfront area highlights new economic development efforts. The county also increased use of its social media channels on Facebook and YouTube to better communicate with the public. Emergency response capabilities were beefed up across various departments to include new routers, cellphone antennas and tablets that county employees can use in the field. In addition, a backup 911 center was established.

Read more about the Digital Counties Survey

York County Fire Chief Stephen P. Kopczynski is the recipient of the 
2023 Virginia Fire Chief’s Association (VFCA) President’s Award.

The award, given at the Virginia Fire Rescue Conference in Virginia Beach on February 22, 2023, was presented by outgoing VFCA president John Prillaman. Of Chief Kopczynski’s selection as the recipient, Fire Chief Prillaman said:VFCA Presidents Award - Stephen P. Kopczynski

“Chief Kopczynski serves as the Virginia Local Assistance State Team (LAST) coordinator that helps families and departments honor their fallen loved ones and ensures they receive the benefits they deserve. In addition, Chief Kopczynski serves as the chairman of the Virginia Fire Service Council, where he coordinates the annual Fire/EMS Legislative Book, bringing together multiple public safety organizations to focus on common legislative initiatives. Finally, Chief Kopczynski chairs the VFCA Health and Safety Committee and served as president of the VFCA.”

The men and women of York County’s Department of Fire and Life Safety congratulate our Fire Chief, Stephen P. Kopczynski, on this well-deserved award. Way to go, Chief!  
Pictured left to right: Fire Chief John Prillaman, Fire Chief Steve Kopczynski, Deputy Chief Allen Baldwin