Transportation Safety Commission


Assists the Board of Supervisors in the development of transportation safety programs and activities on the local level and makes recommendations on improvements for highway and transportation safety.  (day meetings)

CHAIRMAN:    Tom Slaughter
VICE CHAIRMAN:  Eddie Abisaab

Citizen Members

Name Position Address Phone Number
District Term Expiration
Eddie M. Abisaab Member 105 Bugle Ct.
Yorktown, VA 23693
867-6008 District 2 June 30, 2019
William Andersen Member 103 Erin Leigh Ct.
Williamsburg, VA 23185
258-1354 District 1 April 14, 2021
Lisa Z. Church Member 317 Lakeland Crescent
Yorktown, VA 23693
879-9809 District 5 March 31, 2019
Martha R. Haley Member 101 Michael Place
​Yorktown, VA 23692
898-1205 District 4 December 31, 2019
Spindler Krause, Jr. Member 1421 Back Creek Rd.
Seaford, VA 23696
880-7919 District 3 December 31, 2021
Tom Slaughter Chairman 102 Carys Trace
Yorktown, VA 23693
867-9115 District 5 March 31, 2022
Michael F. Smith Member 103 Sharps Lane
Williamsburg, VA 23185
645-2359 District 1 March 31, 2020

Board Liaison

  Position Address Phone
W. Chad Green Board of Supervisor
P.O. Box 3
Seaford, VA 23696
757-369-3394 (Home) or
757-890-3330 (Voice Mail)

Non-County Ex-Officio

Name Organization Address Phone Number
Dwight A. Jenkins Virginia Highway Safety P.O. Box 542
Ark, VA 23003
Angela Biney VDOT-Hampton Roads 1700 N Main Street
Suffolk, VA 23434
Jason Flood National Park Service P. O. Box 210
Yorktown, VA 23690

County Ex-Officio

Address Phone Number
Timothy C. Cross, AICP P.O. Box 532
Yorktown, VA 23690
Sheriff J.D. Diggs P. O. Box 99
Yorktown, VA 23690
Carl L. James, Ed. D. 302 Dare Road
Yorktown, VA 23692
Chief Stephen P. Kopczynski P.O. Box 532
Yorktown, VA 23690
James T. Lash 505 Cook Road
Yorktown, VA 23692

Youth Commission Representatives

Name High School
Leilani Gantt Tabb High School  
Landyn Kopczynski York High School  


The Planning Division provides staff support to the Transportation Safety Commission (TSC), an advisory group of citizen volunteers working with County officials and representatives of the Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT), the Virginia Highway Safety Office, the National Park Service, and other agencies to improve the safety of the County's transportation network.

As a citizen advisory body to the Board of Supervisors, the TSC serves as a conduit between County citizens and the Board on matters relating to transportation safety. In that role, the Commission is occasionally asked to review transportation safety concerns that are brought to the attention of the County or VDOT by citizens. The purpose of this vetting process is to determine if further study and/or action by the Board or VDOT is warranted. Do you have a transportation safety concern you would like the Commission to investigate? To submit questions to the TSC Email the Planning Commission.


Reduce the frequency and severity of vehicle and pedestrian crashes on York County's transportation network.


  • Encourage safer motor vehicle operation as well as bicycle and pedestrian circulation.
  • Improve roadway design safety.
  • Strengthen laws to promote transportation safety.


  • 12 p.m.
  • 2nd Monday of March, June, September, and December