Off the Beaten Shelf

News & Reviews from the
York County Public Library

View All Posts

Apr 02

Social Media Trends: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Posted on April 2, 2021 at 12:00 AM by Elizabeth Land

In this series, we explore trending book recommendations found on the social media platforms.
Shadown and Bone book coverSocial media influencers are sharing their excitement for the adaption of the book Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo, arriving on Netflix on April 23. This thrilling novel is the first in her Grisha Trilogy, a world of science and superstition where nothing is what it seems. We do have all three books, for those that haven't discovered them yet. But if you already have, here are some other novels by Bardugo that are also popular on the platforms.

King of Scars 
This book is a dark fantasy that centers on a young king fighting to overcome the hardship of his country's civil war. As the enemy sees his county border begin to weaken, they plan to strike. The young king must go to great lengths to find himself, gather his allies, and save the country. This book is a part of a duology which takes place in the same "Grishaverse" that is the setting for the Grisha Trilogy. Available in print and eBook formats.

Ninth House
Bardugo breaks into the world of adult fiction in this gritty urban fantasy centered around the secret societies that Yale University is known for. Galaxy "Alex" Stern doesn't belong at Yale. But she's there for a purpose: to explore the windowless "tombs" in which future world leaders, actors, businessmen and women, Wall Street movers, and shakers grow their power. Come find out what forbidden magic is being wielded by these Ivy League elites. Available in print, eBook and eAudiobook formats.

Have you read everything by Bardugo and now looking for similar reads? YCPL staff member Jessica recommends these fantasy series starters:

  • The Cruel Prince by Holly Black
    Summary: Jude, seventeen and mortal, gets tangled in palace intrigues while trying to win a place in the treacherous High Court of Faerie, where she and her sisters have lived for a decade. The first of The Folk of the Air series. Available in print, eBook and eAudiobook formats. From Blood and Ash book cover
  • From Blood and Ash by Jennifer Armentrout
    Summary: Chosen from birth to usher in a new era, Poppy’s life has never been her own. Waiting for the day of her Ascension, she would rather be with the guards, fighting back the evil that took her family, than preparing to be found worthy by the gods. But the choice has never been hers. Poppy is not only on the verge of losing her heart and being found unworthy by the gods, but also her life when every blood-soaked thread that holds her world together begins to unravel. Book 1 of the Blood and Ash series. Available in print and eBook formats.
  • Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin
    Summary: Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and took shelter in the city of Cesarine, forsaking all magic and living off whatever she could steal. As a huntsman of the Church, Reid Diggory has lived his life by one principle: Thou shalt not suffer a witch to live. But when Lou pulls a wicked stunt, the two are forced into an impossible situation—marriage. Lou, unable to ignore her growing feelings, yet powerless to change what she is, must make a choice. And love makes fools of us all. Book one of the Serpent & Dove trilogy, this stunning fantasy will leave readers burning for more. Available in print and eBook formats.