York County, Virginia

York County to Dedicate New Fire Station No. 1
on Tuesday, October 29

October 22, 2019
     The dedication ceremony for York County's new Fire Station No. 1, located at 118 Dare Road, begins at 4 p.m. on Tuesday, October 29. This new facility replaces the aging fire station located on Route 17. At almost 60 years old, the original fire station (built by dedicated community members) has served the county well; however, it is outdated, has increasing maintenance challenges, and no longer offers the necessary capabilities for today's modern fire and rescue service.
     The dedication ceremony will feature remarks from Board of Supervisors Chairman Tom Shepperd, Board of Supervisors member Jeff Wassmer (representing District 4, where the station is located), and County Administrator Neil Morgan.  Rather than a ribbon-cutting, the dedication will conclude with a ceremonial hose uncoupling performed by members of the Board of Supervisors, key County staff, assigned fire and rescue personnel, as well as members of the principal architectural and construction firms.
     Following the ceremony, the station will be open for tours with Fire and Life personnel providing information to visitors as they walk through the facility.
     Features of the new fire station include:
  • Improved training areas so that personnel can maintain critical response skills and a more efficient hallway network so that personnel can quickly access vehicles during emergency responses
  • Better personnel areas for the work shifts of assigned staff at their "home away from home"
  • Improved apparatus area providing adequate space for housing of emergency response vehicles, as well as bay doors that open faster, require less maintenance and have a longer service life
     The station has been under construction since its groundbreaking in May 2018.  The new Fire Station No. 1 will continue to serve as the "district" fire station for the southeastern portion of York County, including Grafton, Dare, and surrounding areas and subdivisions. This station provides primary back up response to the area covered by the Tabb, Yorktown, and Seaford Fire Stations.
     York County's WYCG-TV is recording the ceremony, which will be available following the event on Cox Channel 46, Verizon Channel 38.
     For more information about the Dedication Ceremony, please call York County Fire & Life Safety at (757) 890-3600.

Powered by
CivicSend - A product of CivicPlus