Planning Commission


Serves in an advisory capacity to the Board of Supervisors on matters regarding planning and development in York County. It develops the Comprehensive Plan and provides recommendations to the Board on use permit requests, the reclassification of property, proposed amendments to development ordinances or policies, and any other community development issue requested by the Board or initiated by the Commission.

CHAIRMAN:  Joseph P. Smith
VICE CHAIRMAN:  Jeffrey D. Wassmer


Name Position Address Phone Number
District Term Expiration
Robert T. Criner Member 100 Criner Lane
Yorktown, VA 23693
592-6404 District 5 June 30, 2026
Thomas W. Chamberlain Member 270 Barlow Road
Williamsburg, VA 23188
903-5075 District 1 June 30, 2025
Michael S. King Member 103 Fairfield Drive
Yorktown, VA 23692
872-8585 District 4 June 30, 2026
Mary Leedom Member 611 Wildey Road
Yorktown, VA 23692
817-6948 District 3 June 30, 2024
Jeffrey D. Wassmer Member 304 Dawson Drive
Seaford, VA 23696
775-5000 At Large June 30, 2027
Joseph P. Smith Chairman 101 Loon Court
​Yorktown, VA 23692
817-7771 At Large June 30, 2027
Glen D. Titus

 Member 309 Patriot Way
​Yorktown, VA 23693
865-6531 District 2 June 30, 2025
The responsibility is exercised through recommendations conveyed by resolutions or other official means and all matters of public record. The Commission is comprised of citizen volunteers, appointed by the Board, representing each voting district and two at-large members. For additional information Email the Planning Commission.


  • 7 p.m.
  • 2nd Wednesday of every month
  • York Hall
    301 Main Street
    Yorktown, VA 23690

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Current Agenda 
View Archived Agendas and Minutes