Chesapeake Bay Board


Consider exceptions from the Chesapeake Bay Preservation Areas requirements of York County Code sections 23.2-7, 23.2-8, 23.2-9, 23.2-10, and/or 23.2-11.

CHAIRMAN:  Michael Woolson


Name Position Address Phone Number
District Term Expiration
Bradley E. Berrane Member 1102 Dandy Loop Road
Yorktown, VA 23692
898-8307 District 3
January 31, 2025
Paul Brindza Member 107 Bryon Road
Yorktown, VA 23692
898-3734 At-Large January 31, 2026
Joseph Colvin Member 127 Tradewinds Dr
Yorktown, VA 23693
897-5958 District 2 January 31, 2025
Ricky Edgerton Member 721 Railway Road
Yorktown, VA 23692
592-6109 4 January 31, 2027
Julius Johnson Alternate Member 102 Jennings Drive
Yorktown, VA 23692
954-328-8584 District 4 January 31, 2027
Jack Jordan Member 103 Nansemond Turn
Yorktown, VA 23693
766-0394 District 5 January 31, 2027
Jerry K. Patterson Member 116 Galaxy Way
Yorktown, VA 23693
766-8678 5 January 31, 2024
Isai T. Urasa Alternate Member 208 Villa Way
Yorktown, VA 23693
867-5049 District 2 March 31, 2027
Michael D. Woolson Chairman 103 Indiana Lane
Williamsburg, VA 23188
229-7828 At-Large January 31, 2024


The Chesapeake Bay Board consists of 7 full-time members and 2 alternate members serving 4-year terms with a 2-term limit. All Board members are appointed by the York County Board of Supervisors. 


Mission Statement

To protect and improve the water quality of the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries by minimizing the impact of human activity on the waters within Chesapeake Bay Preservation Areas.
The Chesapeake Bay Board is a regulatory board that conducts public hearings and is charged with granting or denying exception requests to the Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act (CBPA) Ordinance to allow development in the Resource Protection Area (RPA) buffer while balancing the needs of the property owner with the protection of the RPA.

Our Work

Please enjoy our award-winning video, Vegetated Buffers: Protecting a Vital Resource, which serves as a great learning tool providing valuable information on the steps that can be taken to protect the Chesapeake Bay and surrounding lands and tributaries.